Beauty, Genius & Absolute Ridiculousness

Being Back Home

So I made the move back home for summer, this is strange, but it’s a good strange.

It made me realize how much I got used to the sirens and the loudness of living in the city – coming back home, sure there are cars that go by, but it so much quieter than my school town. It made me realize that I will always be a country girl, no matter where I live.

My first night home, I fell asleep at like 9 pm – with my window open, with my screen in, and on top of my blankets. I woke up around midnight, and only had the energy to crawl under my quilt and fell back to sleep, only after grabbing my phone and posting the following status to facebook: Oh crickets, darkness without streetlights, cool river breezes and quiet – how I have missed you!! So good to be home.

Just waking up, and being able to have my curtains cracked, and not being woken up by a light outside the bedroom window, and actually being able to hear crickets and feel the breeze of the river… it just made me feel very thankful to be able to have this, even if it is just for a few months.

I know that since moving down to CSUN that I have changed – I know that. It has made me stronger with the ability to say no if I need to. It’s been a challenging year, that’s for sure. But I know that I can do this. I sure hope that I can. I just have one more year to go, and then I’ll probably be on the hunt for a job, because I know that I need a break. I’m still trying to decide if I want to go to grad school, but I’ll take that step when I get there, if I do want to. We’ll see.

But for now, I’m going to enjoy being home where it isn’t as crazy as living in the city. Sure, we do live right on a road, but I have not heard a single siren since I moved back – I’ve only been here a few days but back at school, sirens were almost a nightly occurrence – didn’t even have to be at night. It was during the day as well. So this is a very welcomed break!

Just planning on enjoying summer as much as I can, and taking advantage of being back where it isn’t just all concrete and roads and craziness. That’s my plan for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply Here. :]

Tag Cloud

