Beauty, Genius & Absolute Ridiculousness

I know that I said that I would do that other challenge, but I want to do this one instead… I’m changing things up because I can, as it’s my blog and I make the rules. I’ll do one a day, unless I jump over one, we’ll see how this goes.

I recently found a prompt a day for a year and I have it on my Nook – so I am going to use that, so y’all won’t get to see what the prompts are before I post the blog, but I like the prompts that this book has so that’s why I’m going with them.

So the prompt for the 8th day – I know I’ve missed on the first 7, but that’s ok! So Day 8 – is Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

So the teacher that I instantly think of is my western riding instructor, Gene Dixon – the man who I rode with, and learned so much from from the age of 11 to the age of 19. He was a wonderful man who is deeply missed.

Me and Gene 2008He passed away a few years ago, and I wish that I had gotten a chance to say goodbye. He was a man who I looked up to, having spent many years at his Arena, learning from him. So much to learn. Not enough time. The picture above, I really don’t think I have any other pictures of me with him. The reason poor Cookie’s head (the horse) is blurry, is she wouldn’t stop moving it, poor girl didn’t like the wind that was happening the day of my last ever lesson at the arena that Gene owned.

But I have no other pictures with him. The list of things that I learned from him is too long to even start to list, but my life is most definitely better having gotten to get to know him. Wonderful man with so many things to teach – I became a better horse woman because of him. He taught me so much.

Gene, you won’t be forgotten.

Thank you so much for all that you have done to teach me how to work with horses in a way that really worked, and knew what I needed to be told, to become a better person. Those years with you were wonderful years. I wish that I had gotten a chance to say bye to you, but I have to say, you knew what you loved to do, and you did a great job at it!

Thank you for all of the good memories. ❤

Comments on: "Gene – A wonderful man who taught me so much!" (1)

  1. Beautiful blog, Mol. Yes, Gene was a wonderful human being. I am so glad you got to have so much time with him. Thanks, Gene!

Leave a Reply Here. :]

Tag Cloud

